QB Mitch Trubisky Named One Of 5 Steelers Captains

The Pittsburgh Steelers have announced their 2022 captains, selecting five players to represent the rest of the roster this season. The five are: QB Mitch Trubisky, RB Najee Harris, DL Cam Heyward, OLB T.J. Watt, and S Miles Killebrew. Trubisky and Harris represent the offense, Heyward and Watt the defense, and Killebrew special teams. Team captains are voted on by their teammates.

Watt and Heyward are returning captains. Heyward’s been one for eight straight years while Watt was named a captain for the first time in 2020. Harris, Killebrew, and Trubisky are all first-time Steelers’ captains. Trubisky, of course, was signed from Buffalo this offseason. Though Mike Tomlin hasn’t officially announced a starting quarterback, Trubisky’s selection as captain is another sign that he’ll be the starting quarterback Week One. Tomlin will hold his weekly press conference tomorrow and could make a declaration then, though he’s been coy about the team’s starter throughout the summer.

Harris has been challenged to take on a stronger leadership role, especially following Ben Roethlisberger’s retirement. Harris will be the focal point of the Steelers’ offense this season and though he isn’t the most vocal player, he leads by example with a tremendous work ethic and maturity brought to the game.

Killebrew is a core, multi-phase special teamer who had a strong 2021 season, blocking a pair of punts. He re-signed on a two-year deal with the team this offseason.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest articles